SYPERWA resolves to improve the financial capacity of their members

published 6 December 2020 updated 7 December 2021

The Education Staff Union of Rwanda (SYPERWA) has taken measures to improve the financial capacity of their members through the establishment of a solidarity fund for teachers. The decision was taken during the 3rd Congress of SYPERWA on 5th December 2020 held in Kigali.

The 50 delegates were joined by representatives from the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Public Service and Labour, the Notary, and the President of the Labour Centre (COTRAF), to which SYPERWA is affiliated.

In their opening remarks they acknowledged the work of SYPERWA, and expressed their willingness to always support SYPERWA's activities with emphasis on the creation of the solidarity fund for teachers, which will not only motivate the beneficiaries but can also induce positive effects on the quality of education. The representatives of the Ministry of Education stressed that a study entitled "Teacher Shop" is being carried out in collaboration with their Cooperative Umwarimu SACCO to facilitate the shopping of teachers.

Mr. Vuguziga Sylvestre, President of SYPWERWA, highlighted the major achievements of the Union, including advocacy with the Ministry of Education for the improvement of the socio-economic conditions of Rwandan teachers and the project for the supply of drinking water to schools. He said 75 million had been spent on the provision of water in schools in BUREMA, BUYE, BIRYOGO.

“Our  future plan is to contribute to the reinforcement of the financial capacities of teachers through the creation of a solidarity fund for teachers with low incomes and this calls for advocacy with the authorities”, he projected.

After the congress adopted some amendments to the constitution, elections were held, and the new committee is composed of:

  • President : VUGUZIGA Sylvestre / Legal Representative,
  • 1st Vice President : NIYONSENGA Jean de Dieu / Deputy Legal Representative,
  • 2nd Vice/ President: MWUMVANEZA Joseph / 2nd Deputy Legal Representative,
  • General Secretary: MUJAWAMARIYA Odette

The congress also elected a treasurer, 3 Commissioners who will preside over the commission finances, mobilization, and capacity building of the members as well as the gender commission.